This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Shares and Sharing

Hard drive formats (File Systems)

Directories (Deleting etc)

How To Get Logs

How are the files spread across the drives ?

How do you set up the merging

Advanced Settings

Performance

 

Shares and Sharing

Do Liquesce views have their own share user/group security ?

  • Currently - Whatever the system has set up for access, should be replicated when the service restarts
    • But you need to let Liquesce know what to restore when it starts up (Which is after the lanmanserver !!)
    • i.e. You need to store these in Liquesce; see Advanced Settings

 

I am having trouble with XP accessing shares

See the workaround here: http://liquesce.codeplex.com/workitem/8162 or use the Advanced settings button

I am having trouble with Shares between different x64 and 32bit OS types.

See the work around here: http://liquesce.codeplex.com/discussions/236580 or use the Advanced settings button

I am having trouble with XP Serving other XP clients

See the workaround here: http://liquesce.codeplex.com/workitem/10543or use the Advanced settings button

 

What file systems does this work with?

  • This will not work with FAT or FAT32 formats,
  • Put simply - It does not care for the FS as long as ACL system calls work
    • If the Windows OS can read / write to it, then according to the MSDN, this should be able to as well.
  • I have NTFS (3 / 4) and exFat currently being used.

 

Directories:

What Happens when a directory is renamed?

  • Internal to the dokan driver this is presented as a directory move to a new name.
  • The rename will then be cascaded to all directories that make up that current view.

 

What Happens when a directory is Moved?

  • All Spanned directories are moved in preference order
  • The Target drive will be the 1st in the list
  • This means that if a file has a duplicate, the highest in the preference order (And the one that would have been presented in the Mount view) will be written first
  • A delete operation will follow the copy to perform an internal transaction using the windows Kernel MoveFileEx(...)

 

What Happens when a directory is Deleted?

  • All the directories that make up the current known view will be deleted.
  • Recursion will not  be performed by this service, as that is supposed to have been taken care of by the “Caller application

 

What Happens when a directory is moved from the Mount to an existing source?

  • The operation should succeed but beware of the scenario in Delete directory (If spanned) will not delete "All" sources of that directory
    • This means that if move from the Mount to the same location in the highest drive, all data will be deleted.
    • This is due to the Dokan driver not being informed of anything going on outside of it's mount (i.e. the copy before delete)
  • So basically Do not do that !

Last edited May 5, 2012 at 7:42 PM by smurfiv, version 26